PEOPLE-Powered Politics

L-R: Council 4 Retirees Joe and Bev Manes speak with Chris, our endorsed U.S. Senate candidate.

The Council 4 Delegate Assembly voted July 13, 2012 to endorse candidates for the General Assembly based on the recommendations of the Council 4 PEOPLE statewide and district steering committees.

Our members interviewed multiple candidates and examined their responses to our candidate questionnaire in making recommendations to the Delegate Assembly. Additional recommendations will be forthcoming in the fall.

Those candidates running in the Aug. 14 primary are noted with a double asterisk.

1st Congressional District
Matt Ritter, State Representative 1st District (Hartford)
Leo Canty, State Representative 5th District (Windsor, Hartford)**
Ed Vargas, State Representative 6th District (Hartford)**
Geoff Luxenberg, State Representative 12th District (Manchester)
Joe Aresimowicz, State Representative 30th District (Berlin, Southington)
Dave Roche, State Senate 31st District (Bristol, Plymouth)
Jason Bowsza, State Representative 57th District (Ellington)

2nd CD
John Murphy, State Representative 8th District (Coventry)
Cathy Osten, State Senator 19th District (Norwich, Columbia, Sprague, Ledyard)**
Chris Phelps, State Representative 32nd District (Cromwell, Portland)
James Crawford, State Senator 33rd District (Westbrook, East Hampton, Portland)**
Gregg Haddad, State Representative 54th District (Mansfield)
Kathy Tallarita, State Representative 58th District (Enfield)**

3rd CD
Steve Fontana, State Senate 34th District (North Haven, East Haven, Wallingford, Durham)
Mary Mushinsky, State Representative 85th District (Wallingford)
James Albis, State Representative 99th District (East Haven)
Matt Lesser, State Representative 100th District (Middletown)

4th CD
Anthony Musto, State Senate 22nd District (Trumbull, Bridgeport)
Ed Gomes, State Senate 23rd District (Bridgeport)**d w
Terry Masters, State Representative 120th District (Stratford)
Jack Hennessy, State Representative 127th District (Bridgeport)

5th CD
Dante Bartolomeo, State Senate 13th District (Meriden, Middletown, Cheshire, Middlefield)
Mike Demicco, State Representative 21st District (Farmington)
Rick Lopes, State Representative 24th District (New Britain, Newington)
Bobby Sanchez, State Representative 25th District (New Britain)
Chuck Marsella, State Representative 80th District (Wolcott, Southington)
Bob Godfrey, State Representative 110th District (Danbury)

Council 4 and AFSCME have also endorsed the following candidates for federal office:

Barack Obama

U.S. Senate
Chris Murphy**

U.S. Congress
John Larson, 1st CD
Joe Courtney, 2nd CD
Rosa DeLauro, 3rd CD
Jim Himes, 4th CD
Chris Donovan, 5th CD**

Want to help pro-worker candidates?